The Cast Down Pilgrim

Tough-Times-AheadOne of the rules I have heard to have a successful blog is not to talk about yourself. That thought is probably correct but I know there are some of God’s Children who have gone through and are still going through some of the things I am experiencing. If the comforts I am experiencing can help them than it is worth breaking the rule of a blog.
Certainly, I will not dwell on my trials because that does not bring glory to God. Instead I will take a few minutes of your time to “Lift our eyes to the mountains, from where shall my help come?  My help comes from the Lord who made heaven and earth. Ps.121:1,2
When we are weak physically and spiritually our great adversary attacks. Those attacks are usually very strong and can cause much pain. After he has caused us to sin than he puts us in deep guilt, he will cause us to lose assurance of our salvation and like a heavy sack over our shoulder we walk burdened down with the weight. Thanks be to God, it is at that time I am always reminded of the verse: “Ye are of God, my little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you than he that is in the world.”(1 John 4:4 ASV)
“He that is in you” this is the Holy Spirit of God. Think of that for a moment! “But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwelleth in you, he that raised up Christ Jesus from the dead shall give life also to your mortal bodies through his Spirit that dwelleth in you.” (Romans 8:11 ASV) The same Spirit that “raised up Christ Jesus” is the power that gives us eternal life and causes us to persevere. When Satan is attacking we need to gain our strength from that indwelling Spirit of God.
How do we draw on the strength of the Spirit of God within?
1. Put on the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. (Ephesians 6:11 ASV). This armor is ready for us we just have to put it on. Sometimes we are tempted to use the devil’s lie: go have fun and don’t think about God right now, you have power to overcome this on your own, “just be Happy”. These are lies that put us even deeper into depression. I am not going to attempt to explain the armor of God but just mention a few thing that help me:
“The Breastplate of righteousness” that means first I must confess my sin and I am assured “He is faithful and just to forgive our sins”1John 1:9 this alway reminds me of David’s words: “If I had cherished iniquity in my heart, the Lord would not have listened.” (Psalm 66:18 ESV)
” the Shield of Faith” I must have continual trust in God’s Word and promises.
” the Helmet of Salvation” We must have faith in God’s Word that our salvation is eternal and the Spirit of God causes us to persevere.
“the Sword of the Spirit” meditate, read and obey God’s word
To conclude, when our strength is weak and Satan attacks we must run to God. We are no match for Satan but he has been defeated at the cross.
Firstly, we must repent and confess any sin. ( thought or actions)
Secondly, go over the promises of God and let faith grasp His love and protection of His people. Some of the chapters I go over frequently is Ps. 62; Ps.121; Isaiah 40:29-31
Thirdly,Let your mind dwell on the cross and the Words from your Lord at the cross, “IT IS FINISHED” you are in His hand and no man can take you out.
Fourthly, even though Satan will do all in his power to keep you from the word of God, allow as much time as you need to meditate on it and draw close to your Father in heaven. This can be the most difficult because this world and Satan tries to keep us busy at legitimate things to keep us from time with God. Just remember the “Sword of the Spirit”is the only weapon we have against satan’s attacks. Remember when Jesus was tried by Satan his defense was quoting God’s Word.
In closing I would like to leave you with one verse;
And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. (Philippians 1:6 ESV)
2 thoughts on “The Cast Down Pilgrim

  1. Pingback: Walk Like a Pilgrim | Eternity Seeker

We Want to Hear from You

